Connect With Us

Recent Updates
« JHU Center Hosts Midterm Election Returns Party | Main | MA in Government and MS in Government Analytics Highlighted in National Rankings »

MA in Government Celebrates 25 Years! 

Dr. Ginsberg with Adjunct Faculty Thomas Stanton and Michael SeigelThe MA in Government Program celebrated its 25th Anniversary on Thursday, October 25 at the US Capitol’s Visitor Center.  Many alumni, faculty, and current students attended the fall gala.  Dr. Ben Ginsberg, Chair of the Center for Advanced Governmental Studies and founder of the MA in Government Program gave welcoming remarks.  Dr. Kathy Hill recognized alum, Doug Andres ’15, for sponsoring our event at the Capitol’s Visitor Center.  Andres is the Press Secretary for Speaker of the House, Paul Ryan. Dr. Hill also recognized Mr. Thomas Stanton for his 25 years of teaching excellence in the program and also gave special gifts to Dr. Ginsberg for his vision and direction for the program and to Dr. Wolfson for directing the program these past 10 years.  

Dr. Wolfson introduced the featured speaker for the evening -- Washington Post columnist EJ Dionne, who also has appointments at the Brookings Institution and Harvard University.  Mr. Dionne spoke on “How to Govern Ourselves After the 2018 Elections” and took many questions from the audience of faculty, alumni, and current students.  It was a happy reunion of alumni (the furthest going back to the Class of 1998!), current students, and dedicated faculty members.  Here’s to another 25! 

Dr. Wolfson with alumni James Miervaldis and John NazelrodJHU Full time faculty Dr. Jen Bachner, Dr. Sarah O'Bryne and Karin OrrDoug Andres receiving recognition from Dr. HillDr. Richard Skinner and alum Charles Yarborough line up to ask a question.

PrintView Printer Friendly Version

EmailEmail Article to Friend

Reader Comments

There are no comments for this journal entry. To create a new comment, use the form below.

PostPost a New Comment

Enter your information below to add a new comment.

My response is on my own website »
Author Email (optional):
Author URL (optional):
Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <code> <em> <i> <strike> <strong>